‘American Songbook at NJPAC’ season ends with salute to Broadway composers



Santino Fontana and Laura Osnes on the NJTV series, “American Songbook at NJPAC.”

The “American Songbook at NJPAC” has put together a grand finale for its fourth season.

The final episode of the season, which debuts March 1 at 8 p.m. (with rebroadcasts March 3 at 2 a.m. and March 5 at 6 p.m.) features highlight from all four seasons, with series host Michael Feinstein introducing the clips and singing and playing a little piano himself.

The theme is a salute to Broadway composers. Performers such as Christine Ebersole, Brian Stokes Mitchell, Marin Mazzie, Laura Osnes and Tom Wopat sing material by Rodgers & Hammerstein, Stephen Sondheim, George and Ira Gershwin, Irving Berlin, Cole Porter and others.

Two of the composers, Marc Shaiman and Stephen Schwartz, are seen performing their own songs at NJPAC’s Victoria Theater, where all the shows have been taped.

For information, visit njtvonline.org.

The performers in the special, and the songs the sing, are: 

Michael Feinstein: Excerpt from “Broadway Baby” (Stephen Sondheim)

Brian Stokes Mitchell: “There’s No Business Like Show Business (Irving Berlin)



Rachel York: “I Get a Kick out of You” (Cole Porter), Rachel York

Michael Feinstein: Excerpt from “S Wonderful” (George and Ira Gershwin)

Tom Wopat: “But Not for Me” (George and Ira Gershwin)

Catherine Russell: “I Got Rhythm” (George and Ira Gershwin)

Rebecca Luker: “Can’t Help Lovin’ Dat Man” (Jerome Kern and Oscar Hammerstein II)

Marin Mazzie: “Bewitched, Bothered and Bewildered” (Richard Rodgers and Lorenz Hart)

Laura Osnes and Santino Fontana: Medley of “People Will Say We’re in Love,” “If I Loved You,” “A Wonderful Guy,” “Do I Love You Because You’re Beautiful?” and “I Have Dreamed” (Richard Rodgers and Oscar Hammerstein II)

Billy Porter: “Edelweiss” (Richard Rodgers and Oscar Hammerstein II)

Annie Golden: “Good Morning Baltimore” (Marc Shaiman and Scott Wittman)

Marc Shaiman: “Big, Blonde and Beautiful” (Marc Shaiman and Scott Wittman)

Marc Shaiman: “Simply Second Nature” (Marc Shaiman and Scott Wittman)

Kelli Rabke, Scott Coulter, Debbie Gravitte, Michael McCorry Rose and Stephen Schwartz: medley of “Day by Day,” “All for the Best,” “Defying Gravity,” “Popular” and “Magic to Do” (Stephen Schwartz)

KT Sullivan and Jeff Harnar: “No One Is Alone” (Stephen Sondheim)

Christine Ebersole: “Send in the Clowns” (Stephen Sondheim)


Explore more articles:

Leave a Comment

Sign up for our Newsletter