Companion CD for Springsteen autobiography to include previously unreleased tracks

The cover of the upcoming Bruce Springsteen album, "Chapter and Verse."

The cover of the upcoming Bruce Springsteen album, “Chapter and Verse.”

Bruce Springsteen’s next album Chapter and Verse, will be released in conjunction with his upcoming autobiography, will include five unreleased songs, along with 13 other tracks.

The unreleased tracks are:

“Baby I” (1966), by Springsteen’s early band The Castiles, recorded at the Mr. Music studio in Brick Township. The song was co-written by Springsteen and The Castiles’ George Theiss.

“You Can’t Judge a Book by the Cover” (1967), a cover of the Willie Dixon song by The Castiles, recorded live at the Left Foot nightclub in Freehold.

 “He’s Guilty (The Judge Song)” (1970), by Springsteen’s Steel Mill band, recorded at Pacific Recording Studio in San Mateo, Calif.

• “Ballad of Jesse James” (1972), by The Bruce Springsteen Band. Recorded at a rehearsal at Challenger Eastern Surfboards in Highlands.

• “Henry Boy” (1972), recorded at  Mediasound Studios in New York.

Chapter and Verse will be released on the day of Springsteen’s 67th birthday, Sept. 23. His autobiography, “Born to Run,” comes out four days later.

According to a press release, “Springsteen selected the songs on Chapter and Verse to reflect the themes and sections of (the book) ‘Born to Run.’ … The collected songs trace Springsteen’s musical history from its earliest days, telling a story that parallels the one in the book.”

The other songs on Chapter and Verse will be:

“Growin’ Up” (the Columbia Records Recordings Studios version heard on the Tracks compilation)
“4th of July, Asbury Park (Sandy)”
“Born to Run”
“The River”
“My Father’s House”
“Born in the U.S.A.”
“Brilliant Disguise”
“Living Proof”
“The Ghost of Tom Joad”
“The Rising”
“Long Time Comin’ ”
“Wrecking Ball”

Explore more articles:

Leave a Comment

Sign up for our Newsletter