Little Steven releases hard-rocking new song, announces album details and NJ show



Little Steven, performing with his Disciples of Soul.

Little Steven and the Disciples of Soul are back with a ferocious new rock song, “Superfly Terraplane” — the lead single from an album, Summer of Sorcery, that will be released on May 3. You can listen to the song on the embedded YouTube video, below.

The band has also announced a May 8 record release show at the Paramount Theatre in Asbury Park. (3/12 Update: Tickets will go on sale March 15 at 10 a.m. via

Summer of Sorcery will be Van Zandt’s first album of all-new material since Born Again Savage, in 1999. Soulfire, released in 2017, was dominated by songs that he wrote but had already been recorded by other artists. The album will be released on CD, digitally,and on vinyl. All digital pre-orders will include a free, instant download of “Superfly Terraplane.” To pre-order, visit

In a press release, Van Zandt’s said the concept of the album is “capturing and communicating that first rush of summer. The electricity of that feeling of unlimited possibilities. Of falling in love with the world for the first time. Obviously, there are occasional personal references, and a bit of what’s going on socially scattered throughout, but I achieved what I set out to do. I created a collection of fictional movies scenes that feel like summer. I’m quite proud of it.”

The cover of the Little Steven and the Disciples of Soul album, “Summer of Sorcery.”

He described the album’s music as “a hybrid” that is “uniquely me.”

“I wanted to hear Sly and the Family Stone, I wanted to hear Sam Cooke, I wanted to hear Tito Puente,” he said. “I wanted to try and get the Beach Boys in there. James Brown, of course. I had certain touchstones of musical influence that I wanted to integrate into my thing.”

After the record release show in Asbury Park, and one in California, the band will tour in Europe through June 23, but will tour in North America later in the summer, with dates TBA. For updates, visit

The following songs will be on the album:

“Party Mambo!”
“Love Again”
“A World of Our Own”
“Soul Power Twist”
“Superfly Terraplane”
“Suddenly You”
“I Visit the Blues”
“Summer of Sorcery”

Explore more articles:

Leave a Comment

Sign up for our Newsletter