Little Steven will release ‘Summer of Sorcery’ live album with notable extras

Little Steven Summer of Sorcery Live

Little Steven & the Disciples of Soul will release “Summer of Sorcery Live! At The Beacon Theatre” on July 9.

A three-CD concert album recorded at Little Steven & the Disciple of Souls’ Nov. 6, 2019 show at the Beacon Theatre in New York will includes some intriguing extras from other tour stops, including a version of Steven Van Zandt’s “Sun City” anthem that edits together performances from between 2017 and 2019 by Bruce Springsteen, Garland Jeffreys, Jake Clemons, Peter Garrett and others.

The album, titled Summer of Sorcery Live! At the Beacon Theatre, will be released in various formats on July 9, on Van Zandt’s UMe-distributed Wicked Cool label. You can watch the first video, for “Camouflage of Righteousness,” below, and the album can be pre-ordered at

Peter Wolf appeared at the Beacon show, joining the band for its cover of his J. Geils Band hit “Freeze Frame” as well as “Sun City.”

“We were born freaks, misfits, and outcasts,” Van Zandt writes in the liner notes. “We got into this business because no other would have us. While we were here we figured we might as well create a world of our own, because we didn’t fit in the one we were being offered. Being on the road with a band is the ultimate manifestation of that fantasy. Together you travel, you perform, you dispense joy, and you get to see the world while avoiding it at the same time.

“Such was the case with the troubadour missionaries and part-time exorcists known as the Disciples of Soul as they sprinkled enlightenment to a dark world from May 27, 2017, to November 6, 2019. First, as the Soulfire was lit in the overture and finally as the Summer of Sorcery played out its magical denouement. Herein embodies the still sparkling evidence of the latter, that which began as stranger’s prayers imagined and ended as a family’s promise fulfilled. Enjoy it at as much as we did at whatever volume is required to force your neighbors to call the cops.”

Here is the track listing for the three-CD set. The album also will be available as a five-LP set, and as a Blu-ray.

Intro: Wavy Gravy
“Camouflage of Righteousness”
“Party Mambo!”
“Love Again”
“On Sir Francis Drake”
“I Visit The Blues”
“Los Desaparecidos”
“Little Girl So Fine”
“Trapped Again”
“Love on the Wrong Side of Town”
“A World of Our Own”

“Suddenly You”
“I Am a Patriot”
“Superfly Terraplane”
“Bitter Fruit”
“Summer of Sorcery”
“Tucson Train”
“Freeze Frame” (with Peter Wolf)
“Sun City” (with Peter Wolf)
“Soul Power Twist”
“Out of the Darkness”

“Bristol Stomp”
“Club a-Go-Go”
“Groovin’ Is Easy” (with Nick Gravenites)
“(Ain’t Nothin’ but a) Houseparty” (with Peter Wolf)
“Ride the Night Away” (with Jimmy Barnes)
“Moon Tears” (with Nils Lofgren)
“Sun City” (with Bruce Springsteen, Garland Jeffreys, Jake Clemons, Jimmy Barnes, Peter Garrett, Sam Fender and Courtney Hadwin)


Since launching in September 2014,, a 501(c)(3) organization, has become one of the most important media outlets for the Garden State arts scene. And it has always offered its content without a subscription fee, or a paywall. Its continued existence depends on support from members of that scene, and the state’s arts lovers. Please consider making a contribution of any amount to via PayPal, or by sending a check made out to to 11 Skytop Terrace, Montclair, NJ 07043.


Custom Amount

Personal Info

Donation Total: $20.00

Explore more articles:

Leave a Comment

Sign up for our Newsletter