Springsteen manager Jon Landau to enter Rock Hall this week; virtual ceremony, interview planned

landau rock hall

Jon Landau will be inducted into the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame, Nov. 7.

Rock managers are rarely acknowledged by the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame. Important behind-the-scenes architects such as Colonel Tom Parker (Elvis Presley), Albert Grossman (Bob Dylan) and Peter Grant (Led Zeppelin) have not received the Ahmet Ertegun Award, which is reserved for non-performers (songwriters, producers, record company executives, managers etc.). But Jon Landau, primarily known as Bruce Springsteen’s longtime manager, will receive this honor in a Nov. 7 ceremony.

Joining Landau in the Hall’s class of 2020 are Whitney Houston, Nine Inch Nails, The Notorious B.I.G., The Doobie Brothers, Depeche Mode and T. Rex. Irving Azoff, best known for managing The Eagles, will also receive the Ahmet Ertegun Award.

(NOV. 7 UPDATE: Click here for a transcript of the ceremony’s segment on Landau, and his acceptance speech.)

Participants in the induction ceremony will include Springsteen (who will presumably speak about Landau), Luke Bryan, Sean “Diddy” Combs, Miley Cyrus, Billy Gibbons, Dave Grohl, Don Henley, Jennifer Hudson, Billy Idol, Iggy Pop, Alicia Keys, Adam Levine, Chris Martin, Lin-Manuel Miranda, Brad Paisley, St. Vincent, Ringo Starr, Gwen Stefani, Charlize Theron and Nancy Wilson.

The ceremony will be shown at 8 p.m. ET Nov. 7 on HBO, with a simulcast on SiriusXM satellite radio on the following channels: Classic Vinyl (channel 26), VOLUME (channel 106) and Rock & Roll Hall of Fame Radio (channel 310).

The show will also be available for streaming on HBO Max.

Landau will also be interviewed at 3:30 p.m. ET Nov. 5 on SiriusXM’s channel 106.
In a previous post, I discussed the huge importance of Landau on Springsteen’s career.

An exhibition devoted to all the Hall’s 2020 inductees has opened at the hall’s museum in Cleveland.


Since launching in September 2014, NJArts.net, a 501(c)(3) organization, has become one of the most important media outlets for the Garden State arts scene. And it has always offered its content without a subscription fee, or a paywall. Its continued existence depends on support from members of that scene, and the state’s arts lovers. Please consider making a contribution of any amount to NJArts.net via PayPal, or by sending a check made out to NJArts.net to 11 Skytop Terrace, Montclair, NJ 07043.


Custom Amount

Personal Info

Donation Total: $20.00

Explore more articles:

1 comment

John Mecuro November 2, 2020 - 4:18 pm

Jay, I’m not saying he doesn’t deserve it, but Tom Parker, Albert Grossman, and Peter Grant were never on the Nominating committee. Jon has been on the committee almost since the start of the RRHF and Chariman of the committee most of that time. Maybe that gave him a slight advantage? But to his credit, Bruce and E-Street still play and sellout the big venues world wide, so he must be doing something right.


Leave a Comment

Sign up for our Newsletter