Whitney Houston will finally be inducted into the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame

Whitney Houston Rock Hall inductee

Whitney Houston, Rock and Roll Hall of Famer

Whitney Houston, eligible for the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame since 2010, has finally been voted in.

She will join Nine Inch Nails, The Notorious B.I.G., The Doobie Brothers, Depeche Mode and T. Rex as 2020 inductees. Also, Bruce Springsteen’s manager Jon Landau and Irving Azoff, best known for managing The Eagles, will be presented with the honorary Ahmet Ertegun Award.

The induction ceremony will take place May 2 at Public Hall in Cleveland, and will air live on HBO and SiriusXM satellite radio.

Nominated but not inducted were Pat Benatar, The Dave Matthews Band, Judas Priest, Kraftwerk, MC5, Motörhead, Rufus featuring Chaka Khan, Todd Rundgren, Soundgarden and Thin Lizzy.

The Dave Matthews Band, who finished first in the hall’s Fan Vote, isn’t being inducted. Nor are three of the other four acts who finished in the Top 5. As I’ve written before, the Fan Vote is a joke.

The Top 5 in the Fan Vote, in order, were The Dave Matthews Band, Benatar, The Doobie Brothers, Soundgarden and Judas Priest. Houston and Depeche Mode were sixth and seventh, respectively, but T. Rex, an inductee, finished last.

For information, visit rockhall.com.


Since launching in September 2014, NJArts.net, a 501(c)(3) organization, has become one of the most important media outlets for the Garden State arts scene. And it has always offered its content without a subscription fee, or a paywall. Its continued existence depends on support from members of that scene, and the state’s arts lovers. Please consider making a contribution of any amount to NJArts.net via PayPal, or by sending a check made out to NJArts.net to 11 Skytop Terrace, Montclair, NJ 07043.


Custom Amount

Personal Info

Donation Total: $20.00

Explore more articles:

Leave a Comment

Sign up for our Newsletter