New Springsteen recording on Appleseed anthology

Springsteen If I Had a Hammer

The cover of the Appleseed Recordings anthology, “Roots and Branches.”

Roots and Branches, a three-CD anthology celebrating the 21st anniversary of the Appleseed Recording label, will feature new recordings by Bruce Springsteen, Tom Morello, Donovan, Tim Robbins, John Wesley Harding and others.

Springsteen’s new recording will be “If I Had a Hammer (The Hammer Song),” the folk classic co-written by Pete Seeger and Lee Hays in 1949.

Springsteen also will be represented by “We Shall Overcome” (previously released on the 1998 anthology, Where Have All the Flowers Gone? The Songs of Pete Seeger Vol. 1), and Tom Russell has contributed a new version of Springsteen’s “Across the Border.” Morello’s new song is a cover of AC/DCs’ “Dirty Deeds Done Dirt Cheap,” reimagined “to name check US foreign policy and ‘fake news,’ according to a press release.

Appleseed founder Jim Musselman said in the press release that the three CDs “have been loosely organized by separate, but frequently overlapping, themes (that) match my three goals in forming Appleseed Recordings — to provide an outlet for songs of social justice, both current and past; to release newly written songs of personal experience and emotion in modern times; and to keep alive the centuries of still-vital traditional songs from our country’s and our world’s history.”

The collection will be released on Oct. 19. For information, visit

These are the songs on the anthology. Asterisks (*) denote previously unreleased tracks.

DISC ONE (“Let the Truth Be Told”)

Pete Seeger: “Oh Sacred World”
Bruce Springsteen: “If I Had a Hammer (The Hammer Song)” (*)
Tom Morello: “Dirty Deeds Done Dirt Cheap” (*)
Tim Robbins: “Well May the World Go” (*)
Joan Baez: “I Wish the Wars Were All Over”
Pete Seeger with Billy Bragg, Ani DiFranco, Steve Earle and Anne Hills: “Bring Them Home (If You Love Your Uncle Sam)”
Tom Russell: “Across the Border” (*)
Johnny Clegg: “Love in the Time of Gaza”
John Wesley Harding with Corporal Quorum: “Scared of Guns (Amended)” (*)
Sweet Honey in the Rock: “Second Line Blues”
Anne Hills: “Needle of Death” (*)
Natalie Merchant and Friends: “There is No Good Reason”
The Kennedys: “Give Me Back My Country”
Studs Terkel: “Blessed Be the Nation”
Tom Morello: “This Land is Your Land”
Bruce Springsteen: “We Shall Overcome”
Pete Seeger: “Dr. King on Violence”

DISC TWO (“Wisdom Keepers”)

Jesse Winchester: “Get It Right One Day” (*)
Donovan: “Poorman’s Sunshine”
Dick Gaughan: “Land of the North Wind”
Tom Paxton and Anne Hills: “Follow That Road”
Al Stewart: “Katherine of Oregon”
Jonathan Edwards: “Surrounded”
Jackson Browne and Bonnie Raitt: “Kisses Sweeter Than Wine”
Angel Band: “Jump Back in the Ditch”
Eric Andersen: “Gonna Go Crazy”
Tom Rush: “What I Know”
Sweet Honey in the Rock: “IDK, but I’m LOL”
Lizzie West and the White Buffalo: “Portrait of an Artist as a Young Woman (Thank You)”
Joel Rafael Band with Jackson Browne, Jimmy LaFave and Arlo Guthrie: “Stepstone”
Tom Paxton: “Looking for the Moon”
“Pete Seeger and Lorre Wyatt with Emmylou Harris: “Somos El Barco (We Are the Boat)”
John Stewart: “There is Love (Wedding Song)” (*)
Jesse Winchester: “Sham-a-Ling-Dong-Ding”
Dick Gaughan: “When I’m Gone”

DISC THREE (“Keeping the Songs Alive”)

John Gorka: “The Water is Wide”
David Bromberg with Levon Helm: “Bring It With You When You Come”
Ramblin’ Jack Elliott: “Roving Gambler”
Tim Eriksen: “Careless Love”
Donovan: “Wild Mountain Thyme (*)
Roger McGuinn with Judy Collins: “John Riley”
John Wesley Harding: “Canadee-I-O”
Bernice Johnson Reagon with Kim and Reggie Harris: “Oh Mary, Don’t You Weep”
Pete Seeger: “Going Across the Mountain”
Frank Proffitt: “Tom Dooley”
Guardabarranco: “Asturias”
Lila Downs: “El Quinto Regimiento”
Aoife Clancy: “Are You Sleepin’, Maggie?”
Alec Stone Sweet: “Mrs. Poer, or, The Concerto”
Jody Stecher and Kate Brislin: “Sow ‘Em on the Mountain”
Steve Young: “Little Birdie”
Mike Seeger and Peggy Seeger: “Cindy”
Sharon Katz and the Peace Train: “Sanalwami”
Danny Glover and Rev. Robert B. Jones, Sr.: “Keep Your Lamps Trimmed and Burning”
Kim and Reggie Harris: “Wade in the Water”
John Stewart and Darwin’s Army: “Bay of Mexico”
Tommy Sands with Dolores Keane and Vedran Smailovic: “Where Have All the Flowers Gone”

Explore more articles:

Leave a Comment

Sign up for our Newsletter